Boards and Commissions


The GO Virginia State Board consists of 24 members with representation from the House and Senate, Gubernatorial appointments, private sector leadership, and is representative of the diversity of the commonwealth. The board’s mission is to encourage collaboration among business, education, and government in each region on activities that will enhance private sector growth and opportunity, economic competitiveness, and alignment of workforce development programs with the needs of employers in the region.


Board of Housing and Community Development

The Board of Housing and Community Development consists of 14 citizen members, including 11 members appointed by the Governor from each of Virginia’s Congressional Districts, a representative from the Virginia Fire Services Board appointed by the chairman of that board, the Executive Director of the Virginia Housing Development Authority, and the Director of Regulatory Compliance of the Virginia Building Officials Association.

Virginia Manufactured Housing Board

The Virginia Manufactured Housing Board has nine members, appointed by the Governor, representing specific groups designated in the enabling legislation. Two members must be manufactured home manufacturers, two must be manufactured home dealers or retailers, four members should have knowledge of the industry and represent the public, and the ninth member is the Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) or their designee.

State Building Code Technical Review Board

The State Building Code Technical Review Board (SBCTRB) consists of 14 citizens appointed by the Governor to ensure Virginia’s building code is administered fairly and well-understood by the citizens of Virginia.

The organizations represented by the board members are the Virginia Society of the American Institute of Architects, Virginia Society of Professional Engineers, the Home Builders Association of Virginia, the Virginia Branch of the Associated General Contractors of America, Virginia Building and Code Officials Association, State Fire Chiefs.Association of Virginia, Virginia chapters of the National Apartment Association, and the Virginia Association of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors.

Commission on Local Government

The Commission on Local Government promotes and preserves the viability of Virginia’s local governments by fostering positive intergovernmental relations.  The commission is composed of five members appointed by Governor and confirmed by the Virginia General Assembly.  The members are required by statute to have knowledge and experience in local government, and they can hold no other elective or appointive office while on the commission.  Commission members are appointed for five-year terms, and are eligible for reappointment.