Board of Housing and Community Development

The Board of Housing and Community Development consists of 14 citizen members, including 11 members appointed by the Governor from each of Virginia’s Congressional Districts, a representative from the Virginia Fire Services Board appointed by the chairman of that board, the Executive Director of the Virginia Housing Development Authority, and the Director of Regulatory Compliance of the Virginia Building Officials Association.

As a state policy board, the Board of Housing and Community Development promulgates regulations related to housing, community development, building safety, and fire prevention. These regulations include the Uniform Statewide Building Code, Statewide Fire Prevention Code, Virginia Certification Standards, and Virginia Enterprise Zone Regulations.

The board’s Codes and Standards Committee considers building code and fire prevention code issues throughout the year. The Housing Committee meets to consider issues related to safe and affordable housing, and the Community Development Committee meets to consider issues related to economic growth, stability and safety in Virginia’s communities. Committees make recommendations to the full board.

All meetings of the board and its three committees are open to the public. The board provides a public comment session at the beginning of each business meeting to allow the public to address the board on any issue. Meeting dates and times are posted on the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) Web site and the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall Web site.

The board advises DHCD in the development of the Consolidated Plan to guide and coordinate housing and community development programs, the Virginia Housing Development Authority and other state agencies and instrumentalities.


Name alt Congressional District.
Mr. Robert Kaplan
Mr. Roger McLellon
Ms. Susan Dewey
Mr. Shekar Narasimhan
Mr. John Ainslie
Mr. Steve Semones
Mr. James R. "Robby" Dawson
Mr. J.P. Carr
Mr. James Petrine
Ms. Patricia P. Shields
Mr. Rick Witt
Mr. Brian Mullins
Mr. Tommy Shields  Jr.
Mr. Anthony Clatterbuck
(Ex officio)
(At large - Fire Board)
(At large - VBCOA)

Board of Housing and Community Development Minutes