The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), in partnership with the Virginia Building and Code Officials Association (VBCOA), and the Virginia Plumbing and Mechanical Inspectors Association (VPMIA) are sponsoring a student scholarship essay contest of up to $2000 to highlight Building Code Safety Month. This year’s theme is Building Codes Save Lives and we are seeking a 1000-word or less essay that illustrates how building codes impact the student’s individual and community safety. All entries must be received no later than 11:59 p.m. on May 6, 2018 and the scholarship recipients will be announced on May 25, 2018. Please click here for scholarship contest rules, criteria, essay prompt, and award information.
Save the date and mark your calendars to attend Downtown Intersections, presented by the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development's Virginia Main Street Program on July 16-18 in Harrisonburg, Virginia. This two-day event promises a packed schedule full of field and classroom sessions spanning topics geared toward strengthening your downtown revitalization efforts and helping you create the ideal downtown destination marketplace.
DHCD State Building Code Office (SBCO) is pleased to announce the availability of the Manufactured Housing Installers Program (MHIP) now online through the Jack A Proctor Virginia Building Code Academy Knowledge Center. Completion of this program is required for all installers of manufactured homes in Virginia prior to application for the mandatory licensure issued by the VA Department of Professional Occupation and Regulation (DPOR).
Due to technical issues electronic payment for the program cannot be accepted at this time. After completing the training program users will be prompted to print the ‘attendance certificate’ necessary to receive ‘Completion verification’ required by DPOR.
Instructions for receiving the required ‘completion verification’.
1. Complete the On-line MHIP. Instructions for accessing the VBCA KC and establishing a user account.
2. Follow instructions to print the Attendance certificate
3. Mail attendance certificate and $50 fee (check made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia) to:
600 E. Main Street, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23219
For problems with the Knowledge Center or questions regarding the Manufactured Housing Installers Program please contact the State Building Code Office at (804) 371-7150